Referendum 435: repeal of LB1402 (private school scholarships)
Yes vote: A vote to repeal LB1402. Result: Repeal approved. Measure reference (Ballotpedia)
Support vs. oppose
| Receipts | From organizations | From individuals (aggregate) | Expenditures | In-state | Out-of-state | State not reported | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| support | $7.51M | $7.09M | $417,088 | $7.48M | $2.96M (39%) | $4.54M (61%) | $4,655 (0%) |
| oppose | $1.53M | $771,505 | $762,263 | $2.33M | $810,520 (53%) | $723,247 (47%) | $0 (0%) |
In-state/out-of-state uses the contributor State reported on each receipt. Legacy (2015–2020) forms report a state only on Form B-1AB; receipts on Forms B-2A/B-4A/B-5 and loans have no state and appear as "not reported".
Money flow
Columns: upstream grantmaker (IRS 990 grants to Nebraska-address organizations in the vote year and the two prior tax years; dashed purple bands) → contributing organization → ballot committee → spending category. Grant links are made by matching organization names between IRS and NADC filings; a grant to an organization is not evidence it paid for this campaign — final use of those grants is undisclosed. Upstream donors to contributing organizations are not disclosed unless shown. Boxes are colored by entity type and bands by data source; hover a box for its type, the basis for that type, and totals in/out, or a band for its source filing. Use the checkboxes to hide types.
Receipts over time (by month)
■ SUPPORT OUR SCHOOLS - NEBRASKA (support)■ KEEP KIDS FIRST (oppose)
SUPPORT OUR SCHOOLS - NEBRASKA (support; NADC ID 8866; active 2023, 2024, 2025)
Receipts $7.51M · expenditures $7.48M · 26 contributing organizations · individuals (aggregate) $417,088. Source data
Top contributing organizations
| Organization | Type (as reported to NADC) | State | Years | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NATIONAL EDUCATION ASSOCIATION † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2023, 2024 | $4.33M | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA STATE EDUCATION ASSOCIATION (NSEA) † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $1.75M | NADC campaign finance extract |
| VOTE FOR SCHOOLS | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $225,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| OPENSKY POLICY INSTITUTE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $168,596 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| OPEN SKY POLICY INSTITUTE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $102,070 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEW VENTURE FUND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2024 | $99,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HOPEWELL FUND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2024 | $90,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| SECOND HOUSE COLLABORATIVE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $89,518 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| STAND FOR SCHOOLS † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $70,976 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| OMAHA EDUCATION ASSOCIATION † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $40,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| BOLD ALLIANCE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $27,501 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA CIVIC ENGAGEMENT TABLE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $20,917 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| LINCOLN EDUCATION ASSOCIATION † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $20,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| OMAHA EDUCATION ASSOCIATION PAC | PAC-Separate Segregated Political Fund | NE | 2024 | $15,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKANS CONNECTING THE DOTS † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $15,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| AMERICANS UNITED FOR SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE INC. | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2024 | $9,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| — | 2024, 2025 | $4,655 | NADC campaign finance extract | ||
| COLORADO EDUCATION ASSOCIATION | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | CO | 2024 | $2,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| LINCOLN EDUCATION ASSOCIATION PAC | PAC-Separate Segregated Political Fund | NE | 2024 | $2,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| Nebraska STAFF ASSOCIATION, INC. | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $1,402 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| CAPITOL DISTRICT NSEA | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $1,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| MAINE EDUCATION ASSOCIATION | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | ME | 2024 | $1,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HELEN RAIKES FOR STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION | Candidate Committee | NE | 2024 | $1,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HEARTLAND WORKERS CENTER † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $264 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ACLU NEBRASKA † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024, 2025 | $110 | NADC campaign finance extract |
Spending by category
| Advertising, media & mail | $4.16M |
| Consulting | $1.17M |
| Petition circulation | $863,928 |
| Staff & payroll | $606,152 |
| Polling & research | $250,259 |
| Legal, compliance & accounting | $200,732 |
| Other / not itemized by purpose | $160,629 |
| Office, data & supplies | $48,719 |
| Fees & processing | $12,028 |
| Contributions to other committees | $8,307 |
| Travel & events | $2,470 |
Categories are assigned from each expenditure's reported description/purpose by keyword; in-kind contributions received are reported by NADC as expenditures too.
KEEP KIDS FIRST (oppose; NADC ID 8914; active 2023, 2024, 2025)
Receipts $1.53M · expenditures $2.33M · 15 contributing organizations · individuals (aggregate) $762,263. Source data
Top contributing organizations
| Organization | Type (as reported to NADC) | State | Years | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMERICAN FEDERATION FOR CHILDREN GROWTH FUND | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | MD | 2023 | $391,571 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| AMERICAN FEDERATION FOR CHILDREN | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | MD | 2023 | $269,928 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| YES. EVERY KID. | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | VA | 2023 | $25,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| OTB ARIZONA, LLC (NE) | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $25,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| AMERICAN FEDERATION FOR CHILDREN, INC. | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | MD | 2025 | $11,645 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| AKRS EQUIPMENT SOLUTIONS INC | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $10,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ADRIAN SMITH FOR CONGRESS C00412890 | Federal PAC | NE | 2024 | $10,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HAWKINS CONSTRUCTION COMPANY | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $10,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| LINEHAN FOR LEGISLATURE | Candidate Committee | NE | 2024 | $10,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| COMMODITY SOLUTIONS | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $3,300 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| H & H AUTOMOTIVE | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $2,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA FEDERATION FOR CHILDREN | PAC-Independent | NE | 2025 | $2,085 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| VENUE 304 | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $200 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKALAND BANK | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $176 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HELP FOUNDATION OF OMAHA | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $100 | NADC campaign finance extract |
Spending by category
| Advertising, media & mail | $1.13M |
| Other / not itemized by purpose | $468,853 |
| Consulting | $432,735 |
| Staff & payroll | $138,145 |
| Polling & research | $92,425 |
| Petition circulation | $27,253 |
| Legal, compliance & accounting | $16,481 |
| Contributions to other committees | $12,036 |
| Travel & events | $7,706 |
| Office, data & supplies | $3,816 |
| Fees & processing | $1,773 |
Categories are assigned from each expenditure's reported description/purpose by keyword; in-kind contributions received are reported by NADC as expenditures too.
† name also appears as a recipient or filer in the IRS 990 grant data loaded for the Funder networks page (organization-name match, not an identifier match).