Initiatives 437/438: medical cannabis
Yes vote: Legalize and regulate medical cannabis. Result: Approved. Measure reference (Ballotpedia)
Support vs. oppose
| Receipts | From organizations | From individuals (aggregate) | Expenditures | In-state | Out-of-state | State not reported | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| support | $2.21M | $1.91M | $299,192 | $2.43M | $1.73M (78%) | $479,577 (22%) | $0 (0%) |
| oppose | No registered oppose committee found in NADC data | ||||||
In-state/out-of-state uses the contributor State reported on each receipt. Legacy (2015–2020) forms report a state only on Form B-1AB; receipts on Forms B-2A/B-4A/B-5 and loans have no state and appear as "not reported".
Money flow
Columns: upstream grantmaker (IRS 990 grants to Nebraska-address organizations in the vote year and the two prior tax years; dashed purple bands) → contributing organization → ballot committee → spending category. Grant links are made by matching organization names between IRS and NADC filings; a grant to an organization is not evidence it paid for this campaign — final use of those grants is undisclosed. Upstream donors to contributing organizations are not disclosed unless shown. Boxes are colored by entity type and bands by data source; hover a box for its type, the basis for that type, and totals in/out, or a band for its source filing. Use the checkboxes to hide types.
* type inferred from the organization name (no FEC, NADC or IRS record matched); hover for the basis.
Receipts over time (by month)
■ NMM (support)
NMM (support; NADC ID 7400; active 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026)
Receipts $2.21M · expenditures $2.43M · 35 contributing organizations · individuals (aggregate) $299,192. Source data
Top contributing organizations
| Organization | Type (as reported to NADC) | State | Years | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NEBRASKA FAMILIES 4 MEDICAL CANNABIS (NONPROFIT CORPORATION) | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $732,203 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| SECOND HOUSE COLLABORATIVE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024, 2025, 2026 | $314,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| GROWING THE GOOD LIFE | PAC-Independent | NE | 2023, 2024 | $222,600 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| WESTERN FUTURES FUND | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | WY | 2024 | $200,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEW VENTURE FUND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2024 | $100,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| AGMED, LLC | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2021, 2022, 2024 | $52,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| MARIJUANA POLICY PROJECT | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2021, 2022 | $38,561 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| MISSOURI HEMP IMPROVEMENT COMPANY | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | MO | 2022 | $37,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ACLU NEBRASKA † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 | $32,498 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ACLU OF NEBRASKA, INC. † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2022 | $28,386 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| DEEP ROOTS HOLDINGS, INC. | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NV | 2024 | $25,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKANS FOR MEDICAL MARIJUANA | Ballot Question Committee | NE | 2021 | $21,030 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HARPER ENTERPRISES, INC. | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2022 | $15,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| BMD SMITHVILLE LLC | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | MO | 2022 | $12,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NECTAR MARKETS | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | OR | 2023, 2024 | $11,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKANS CONNECTING THE DOTS | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $10,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| TEAMSTERS LOCAL 554 POLITICAL | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $9,300 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA CANNABIS ASSOCIATION | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2022, 2023, 2024 | $7,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| GENERATION V | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2022, 2023 | $6,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKANS FOR MEDICAL CANNABIS, INC | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $6,467 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HERGERT OIL COMPANY | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2022 | $5,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ACLU NEBRASKA FOUNDATION, INC. † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $4,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| MACHAELA CAVANAUGH FOR LEGISLATURE | Candidate Committee | NE | 2024 | $2,500 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| FRIENDS OF MIKE MCDONNELL | Candidate Committee | NE | 2023, 2025 | $2,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| CBD REMEDIES | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2022 | $2,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
Spending by category
| Petition circulation | $1.39M |
| Legal, compliance & accounting | $541,926 |
| Other / not itemized by purpose | $200,776 |
| Advertising, media & mail | $140,857 |
| Staff & payroll | $86,553 |
| Consulting | $34,224 |
| Contributions to other committees | $15,867 |
| Travel & events | $13,118 |
| Fees & processing | $10,822 |
Categories are assigned from each expenditure's reported description/purpose by keyword; in-kind contributions received are reported by NADC as expenditures too.
† name also appears as a recipient or filer in the IRS 990 grant data loaded for the Funder networks page (organization-name match, not an identifier match).