Initiative 436: paid sick leave
Yes vote: Require employers to provide paid sick leave. Result: Approved. Measure reference (Ballotpedia)
Support vs. oppose
| Receipts | From organizations | From individuals (aggregate) | Expenditures | In-state | Out-of-state | State not reported | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| support | $3.41M | $3.41M | $620 | $3.75M | $865,680 (25%) | $2.55M (75%) | $0 (0%) |
| oppose | No registered oppose committee found in NADC data | ||||||
In-state/out-of-state uses the contributor State reported on each receipt. Legacy (2015–2020) forms report a state only on Form B-1AB; receipts on Forms B-2A/B-4A/B-5 and loans have no state and appear as "not reported".
Money flow
Columns: upstream grantmaker (IRS 990 grants to Nebraska-address organizations in the vote year and the two prior tax years; dashed purple bands) → contributing organization → ballot committee → spending category. Grant links are made by matching organization names between IRS and NADC filings; a grant to an organization is not evidence it paid for this campaign — final use of those grants is undisclosed. Upstream donors to contributing organizations are not disclosed unless shown. Boxes are colored by entity type and bands by data source; hover a box for its type, the basis for that type, and totals in/out, or a band for its source filing. Use the checkboxes to hide types.
Receipts over time (by month)
■ NEBRASKANS FOR PAID SICK LEAVE (support)
NEBRASKANS FOR PAID SICK LEAVE (support; NADC ID 8934; active 2023, 2024, 2025)
Receipts $3.41M · expenditures $3.75M · 28 contributing organizations · individuals (aggregate) $620. Source data
Top contributing organizations
| Organization | Type (as reported to NADC) | State | Years | Amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SIXTEEN THIRTY FUND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2023 | $1.92M | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA APPLESEED ACTION FUND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $489,130 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| OPEN SOCIETY POLICY CENTER † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2023, 2024 | $350,000 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| THE FAIRNESS PROJECT | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $281,548 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| WOMEN'S FUND OF OMAHA † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $144,706 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA APPLESEED | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $63,207 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| SECOND HOUSE COLLABORATIVE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024, 2025 | $56,635 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| AARP OF NEBRASKA | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $21,774 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA CIVIC ENGAGEMENT TABLE † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $20,750 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| RAISE THE WAGE NEBRASKA † | Ballot Question Committee | NE | 2023 | $15,455 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| PLANNED PARENTHOOD ADVOCATES OF NEBRASKA | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $15,378 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| HEARTLAND WORKERS CENTER † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $9,834 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA STATE AFL-CIO | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $5,140 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| YWCA OF GRAND ISLAND † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2025 | $4,120 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| UNITY IN ACTION † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024 | $3,333 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| NEBRASKA APPLESEED CENTER FOR LAW IN THE PUBLIC INTEREST † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $2,988 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| VOZ DE ESPERANZA (DBA CENTRO HISPANO COMUNITARIO DE NEBRASKA) † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2024, 2025 | $2,700 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ACLU NEBRASKA INC † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $2,567 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ACLU NEBRASKA FOUNDATION, INC. † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023 | $2,421 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| VOICES FOR CHILDREN IN NEBRASKA † | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $1,610 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| OUT NEBRASKA | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $1,602 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| BALLOT INITIATIVE STRATEGY CENTER (BISC) | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | DC | 2023, 2024 | $1,252 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| OTHERS (NON-INDIVIDUALS) WHO HAVE CONTRIBUTED DURING PERIOD, BUT EACH $250 OR LESS FOR CALENDAR YEAR | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024, 2025 | $716 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| Nebraska STATE AFL - CIO | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2023, 2024 | $643 | NADC campaign finance extract |
| ENTERPRISE RENT-A-CAR | Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities) | NE | 2025 | $182 | NADC campaign finance extract |
Spending by category
| Petition circulation | $1.86M |
| Staff & payroll | $578,849 |
| Other / not itemized by purpose | $578,461 |
| Advertising, media & mail | $272,654 |
| Contributions to other committees | $213,577 |
| Office, data & supplies | $135,068 |
| Consulting | $38,000 |
| Legal, compliance & accounting | $35,240 |
| Polling & research | $33,500 |
| Travel & events | $4,597 |
| Fees & processing | $263 |
Categories are assigned from each expenditure's reported description/purpose by keyword; in-kind contributions received are reported by NADC as expenditures too.
† name also appears as a recipient or filer in the IRS 990 grant data loaded for the Funder networks page (organization-name match, not an identifier match).