← All ballot measures

Initiative 428: payday loan interest cap

Yes vote: Cap payday loan rates at 36% APR. Result: Approved. Measure reference (Ballotpedia)

Support vs. oppose

ReceiptsFrom organizationsFrom individuals (aggregate)ExpendituresIn-stateOut-of-stateState not reported
support$3.89M$3.79M$102,500$2.75M$270,357 (7%)$3.37M (87%)$250,581 (6%)
opposeNo registered oppose committee found in NADC data

In-state/out-of-state uses the contributor State reported on each receipt. Legacy (2015–2020) forms report a state only on Form B-1AB; receipts on Forms B-2A/B-4A/B-5 and loans have no state and appear as "not reported".

Money flow

Columns: upstream grantmaker (IRS 990 grants to Nebraska-address organizations in the vote year and the two prior tax years, purple) → contributing organization → ballot committee → spending category. Grant links are made by matching organization names between IRS and NADC filings; a grant to an organization is not evidence it paid for this campaign — final use of those grants is undisclosed. Upstream donors to contributing organizations are not disclosed unless shown. Hover any band for its source filing.

NEBRASKANS FOR RESPONSIBLE LENDING (support) ($3.89M)Sixteen Thirty Fund ($1.89M)American Civil Liberties Union, Inc. ($1.34M)Hopewell Fund ($269K)Ne Appleseed Center For Law In The Public Interest ($177K)Women'S Fund Of Omaha ($6.04M)Sherwood Foundation ($6.54M)Fairness Project, The ($53K)Voices For Children In Nebraska ($243K)Fraser Stryker Pc Llo ($134K)Hopewell Fund ($134K)Aclu Of Nebraska, Inc. ($250K)Individuals (aggregate) ($103K)Advertising, media & mail ($1.74M)Consulting ($591K)Staff & payroll ($215K)Other / not itemized by purpose ($78K)Legal, compliance & accounting ($64K)Polling & research ($42K)Office, data & supplies ($11K)Petition circulation ($8K)Travel & events ($1K)Fees & processing ($0K)

Receipts over time (by month)

2019-092019-112020-012020-032020-052020-072020-092020-11$0.93M

■ NEBRASKANS FOR RESPONSIBLE LENDING (support)

NEBRASKANS FOR RESPONSIBLE LENDING (support; NADC ID 19BQC00484; active 2019, 2020)

Receipts $3.89M · expenditures $2.75M · 9 contributing organizations · individuals (aggregate) $102,500. Source data

Top contributing organizations

OrganizationType (as reported)StateYearsAmountSource
SIXTEEN THIRTY FUND †Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)DC2019, 2020$1.89MNADC legacy dataset
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION, INC.Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)NY2019, 2020$1.34MNADC legacy dataset
HOPEWELL FUND †Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)DC2020$268,903NADC legacy dataset
NE APPLESEED CENTER FOR LAW IN THE PUBLIC INTERESTBusiness (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)NE2019, 2020$176,546NADC legacy dataset
WOMEN'S FUND OF OMAHA †Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)NE2019, 2020$55,065NADC legacy dataset
FAIRNESS PROJECT, THEBusiness (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)DC2019, 2020$52,916NADC legacy dataset
VOICES FOR CHILDREN IN NEBRASKA †Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)NE2019, 2020$5,868NADC legacy dataset
FRASER STRYKER PC LLO †Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)NE2019$5,785NADC legacy dataset
ACLU OF NEBRASKA, INC. †Business (For-Profit and Non-Profit entities)NE2020$593NADC legacy dataset

Spending by category

Advertising, media & mail$1.74M
Consulting$590,675
Staff & payroll$215,417
Other / not itemized by purpose$78,403
Legal, compliance & accounting$63,844
Polling & research$41,630
Office, data & supplies$10,966
Petition circulation$7,728
Travel & events$656
Fees & processing$200

Categories are assigned from each expenditure's reported description/purpose by keyword; in-kind contributions received are reported by NADC as expenditures too.

† name also appears as a recipient or filer in the IRS 990 grant data loaded for the Funder networks page (organization-name match, not an identifier match).